IT Support

Advice on accessing College systems and using the Computer Network

Help:

If you need help, please speak to your teacher, or a member of staff on the Helpdesk in the Learning Resource Centre. Tips and further information can be found on Moodle.

Logging on and changing your Password:

Once you have successfully logged in you can change your password when required by using Ctrl+Alt+Del on your PC or reset your password via the Tyber login page.

Storing your work:

Once logged on, double click the Computer icon on the desktop to display all your accessible drives. You can manage your files here.

Save or open work by using the Computer icon or clicking File, Open/Save in an application and selecting, either:

  • O: drive this is your personal OneDrive space that you can access from college or home.
  • H: drive – your personal user area on the College network. This is regularly backed up, space on here is limited.
  • D: or E: drives – USB devices – remember to “eject” the stick before removing from the computer.

Remember – Always SAVE regularly and keep a BACKUP of your work.

Printing:

You can use your Student ID card to register for printing at any “touch-screen” printer.  Present your ID card to the reader attached to the printer.  Login with your network user name and password to register your card for printing.  Wave your ID card at the reader to log out.

Type “http://printing” into Internet Explorer’s address bar to view your pending documents and your print credit balance.  If you use up all your print credit allowance, you will need to pay to “top-up” at the Helpdesk in the Learning Resource Centre.

Working on Documents from Moodle:

When opening a document you wish to work on from Moodle these options will appear.

Avoid clicking ‘Open’ as this won’t save any changes you make to the document.

Click ‘Save as’ to save in a folder of your choice on your home area.

Click ‘Save and open’ to automatically save the document to the Downloads folder in your home area.

Recovering Deleted Work:

If you have accidentally deleted a file or folder from your College home area, you can use Previous Versions from within My Computer to retrieve it. Select the folder/file – right click – select ‘Previous Versions’ and view the item you wish to recover before copying and pasting it into your home area.

Do NOT select the RESTORE button as this will over-write existing files.

Screen Prints:

To produce copies of the active window as evidence of work done on the computer, press Alt+Print Scrn key (to the right of the F12 key on the keyboard).  This copies the active window as a picture ready for pasting into an application, e.g. Word or Paint.

Alternatively, use the Snipping Tool, (under Start – Programs – Accessories) to drag and select any part of the screen display you require. NB – you can also highlight or draw over your image once copied into the snipping tool ready to be pasted into your application.

College systems available from home:

Type hub.solihullsfc.ac.uk into your internet browser’s address bar to access Moodle and Tyber from outside College.

Introduction to Office 365 Email and OneDrive

The College uses a cloud based storage system, OneDrive. This offers more storage than your H:\ drive (up to 1 TB!), is very reliable and also allows you to access your files from anywhere (as long as you have an internet connection).

OneDrive is either accessible via your O:\ drive at College or by going online to Office 365.

If you visit the Hub page hub.solihullsfc.ac.uk and click on the Office 365 link, this takes you to your email page. When outside the college you can login with your email address (this is your student number and then @solihullsfc.ac.uk) and then your network password.)

You will be taken from here into your email account.

To access email, use the folder structure on the left hand side and click on emails to view them. You have the option to view or reply on the top right hand side of each email by pressing the small arrow.

To create a new email select new from the top bar, enter email address or addresses to send to followed by a message and select send once done.

To use Onedrive if you select the 9 squares in the top left corner, this will bring up the selection of Office 365 applications. Here, you will find the link to OneDrive.

When you open OneDrive, this is the screen you will be presented with:

On OneDrive, you have the option to upload, download or create new files.

To save an existing document to OneDrive, click on ‘Upload’, they will save to the currently selected folder.

To create a new document, select ‘New’ and choose which type of file you want to create. You can either edit these within your browser, on the web based application, or on the grey ribbon towards the top there is an option to ‘Edit in…’ which will open a desktop application.

It is important to keep your files tidy and easy to find. To create a folder structure, you can right click, select ‘New’, then go to ‘Folder’, or use the ‘New’ button on the control ribbon.

To move files, you can either drag them into the necessary folders, or right click on the necessary file and select ‘move to’.

One Drive also allows for document sharing, so you can send a copy of your document to someone or collaborate with other students or your teachers.

To share a document or manage the access, select the document you want and click ‘private’. This will present a list of anyone who can view or edit that document, and allows you to stop sharing your document too.

This menu will also allow you to ‘Share’ your documents.It brings up a list of options for sharing:

  • ‘Anyone’ means that anyone with the link to your document can view it.
  • ‘People in your organization’ means that anyone with a solihullsfc email address, that is part of our College can access the document if they receive a link or an email.
  • ‘People with existing access’ means that it will not allow anyone else to view the document, but if you already have some people that you are sharing it with, they will still have access to it.
  • ‘Specific people’ only allows select people that you choose to view the document.
  • The ‘Allow editing’ tick box decides whether they receive a read only copy or not. If this option is selected, anyone who is sharing this document can contribute to it. If not, they can only view and read the document.

Once you have selected which option you would like to take when sharing, you can then insert an email address to send the link to and add a message. Alternatively, you can just copy a link to send yourself.

When you click on a document, a ‘version history’ option will appear on the ribbon. This will allow you to see when documents have been modified by yourself or other users so you can track the changes that have been made.

Courses

Select your course

Not sure what to study or want to know more about a particular course? Use your course finder to help you decide what is best for you.

Case Studies

Zoe Moles

Zoe Moles attended Light Hall School before joining the College to study A levels, with an ambition of eventually becoming…

Read more